My Favourite Films of 2018

Last year I said “It’s been a pretty awful year in politics, so I find looking back at my year in film a pleasant diversion.”

Well, politics this year has been far far worse. Let’s hope that sense and kindness prevails in 2019.

Thankfully, there were some great films in 2018.

Here’s my list of favourites, ordered alphabetically within each rating:


New releases in 2018, including limited releases, online releases, and festival screenings

10/10:

Cold War [Pawel Pawlikowski]proxy.duckduckgo.com

9/10:

Arcadia [Paul Wright]
arcadia

Custody [Xavier Legrand]
Custody

Faces, Places [JR, Agnès Varda]
Faces Places

The Favourite [Yorgos Lanthimos]the favourite

The Hymns of Muscovy [Dimitri Venkov] (short)
The Hymns of Muscovy

Isle of Dogs [Wes Anderson]
Isle of Dogs

Phantom Thread [Paul Thomas Anderson]
Phantom Thread

Shoplifters [Hirokazu Koreeda]
Shoplifters

You Were Never Really Here [Lynne Ramsay]
You Were Never Really Here

8/10:


Older films which I discovered for the first time

8/10:

Leave a comment