Albums that influenced me: Trilogy by Emerson, Lake and Palmer

Trilogy 1
1972 Trilogy - Emerson, Lake And Palmer (L.P U.S.A Cotillion Records SD 9903)

I was challenged to select 10 albums that had an influence on me. This is the first.

Emerson, Lake & Palmer’s Trilogy still stands up today as a remarkable album. It’s breadth of imagination and level of musicianship are astonishing.

It holds a special place in my heart because I can clearly remember the powerful impact it had when I first heard it. I must have been about 11 or 12 when I put my older brother’s copy of the record on the turntable. (My bother’s record collection had a huge impact on my introduction to music). The sound of the plaintive melody and the frantic percussive response of the opening track (Endless Enigma) had me immediately hooked. I’d never heard anything quite like it.

This is one of those albums where I felt I had discovered a new musical landscape, one that filled me with wonder and excitement.

That thrill of discovery (and re-discovery) has been an important part my rather meandering musical journeys over the years, and indeed of the other arts as well.

Leave a comment